We encourage users to use the free NMLS Consumer Access Link to  confirm that the mortgage company or mortgage professional with whom they wish to conduct business is authorized to conduct mortgage business in their state. 






FHA Learning CenterSpacer

An FHA loan is a home loan the Federal Housing Administration 'insures'. FHA loans are noted for having smaller down payments, lower closing costs and easier lending standards to help homeowners who don’t qualify for a conventional mortgage.

The FHA Loan allows a down payment of as little as 3.5% on a mortgage. This can make it possible for lower income & and middle income borrowers to purchase buy a home when they may not qualify for a conventional loan — which has must stricter credit requirements, including a higher credit score and strong credit history, and conventional loans traditionally require a larger down-payment (usually 20% of the Purchase Price).


The FHA Government Program provides insurance to the bank or lender of your home, promising them financially in case the borrowers does not pay the mortgage. 


FHA Loan Limits
FHA loan limits vary based on location and property type (single-family home / 2 unit / 3 unit), and are calculated individually for each state and each county within that state. You can find the
FHA Mortgage Limit for your area by visiting this page: The FHA in Your State

FHA Loan Requirements


  • 3.5 percent of the purchase price for down-payment

  • Have a valid U.S. Social Security number.

  • Proof of U.S. citizenship, evidence of legal permanent residency or eligibility documentation to work in the U.S.

  • Valid age to sign mortgage loan documentation under your state’s laws.

  • Purchase a one- to four-unit (Maximum) property.




FHA Loan Information

The FHA does not lend money. The FHA (Federal Housing Administration) is part of HUD & backs individual Approved Lenders.


Note: We are not affiliated with the Federal Housing Administration, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, or any other government agency. We are an FHA Educational Resource.

Our responsibility is to help you find the best FHA Approved Lender who can help you secure home financing.

When you fill in our short application we will provide your information to one, (and only one!)  FHA Approved Lender who can help you based upon many factors, including your Credit Score, your State Location, and the Type of Loan you apply for

 Read more 



Subscribe to receive free FHA Government Loan .org News Release email

Subscribe to the BLS News Service email


FHA News & Information

  • Thirty-year fixed, 15-year fixed and 5/1 ARM rates were all lower today, according to a survey of current mortgage rates published by National Lenders Thursday morning. (2/2/17)
  • FHA Home Loan: A Smart Choice When Rates Are Rising. As people watch mortgage interest rates move upward, they might be wondering whether there is a mortgage out there for them. The FHA home loan could be something to look into, depending on one’s savings, credit score, income and future needs.       (2/27/17)
  • HUD suspends FHA mortgage insurance premium cut. The FHA will issue a subsequent Mortgagee Letter at a later date should this policy change                  (01/27/17).